Posts Tagged Access to Emergency Medical Services Act

Access Act Provisions Considered for Senate Bill

Sen. Debbie Stabenow at the introduction of Access to Emergency Medical Services Act

Sen. Debbie Stabenow at the introduction of Access to Emergency Medical Services Act

The U.S. Senate Finance Committee is finalizing its health care reform proposal. ACEP has been working with Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), the sponsor of the “Access to Emergency Medical Services Act” (S. 468), to include the provisions of the bill in the Senate Finance Committee package.

Sen. Stabenow and ACEP need your help. Sen. Stabenow’s office has notified ACEP staff that the Finance Committee is reluctant to include these provisions unless they hear from other Senators on the Finance Committee about the importance of this legislation.

You can help. Take immediate action on behalf of all emergency physicians and your patients.

Please check the following list and if your Senator is on the Finance Committee, please call the number listed, ask to speak to the health policy staff person also on the list and urge them to weigh in with Finance Committee staff about the importance of including the emergency medicine provisions of S. 468 in their draft legislation. Please do not call all the Senators in the list.  Only call your Senator’s office.

Briefly, the “Access to Emergency Medical Services Act” (S. 468) would:

  1. Create a national commission to examine all the issues affecting access to emergency care and provide recommendations to Congress on how to address these problems
  2. Provide additional resources (10% add-on payment) to physicians who provide EMTALA-related services to Medicare beneficiaries
  3. Create a CMS working group to develop boarding and ambulance diversion standards, guidelines, measures and incentives.

Questions? Contact Brad Gruehn or Jeanne Slade in ACEP’s Washington, DC office at 202-728-0610. Please call your Senator’s office before the close of business, Tuesday, June 23.
U.S. Senate Finance Committee   

Senate Member                         Staff Member                Contact Number


Max Baucus (D-MT)                    Liz Fowler                       (202) 224-4515

Jay Rockefeller (D-WV)               Jocelyn Moore                 (202) 224-6472

Kent Conrad (D-ND)                    Kate Spaziani                  (202) 224-2043

Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)                 Fred Isasi                        (202) 224-5521

John Kerry (D-MA)                      Alison Bonebrak              (202) 224-2742

Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)               Ashley Ridlon                 (202) 224-4843

Ron Wyden (D-OR)                     Eva Dugoff                      (202) 224-5244

Chuck Schumer (D-NY)               Meghan Taira                  (202) 224-6542

Maria Cantwell (D-WA)                Mark Iozzi                      (202) 224-3441

Bill Nelson (D-FL)                       Madeline Otto                 (202) 224-5274

Bob Menendez (D-NJ)                 Emma Palmer                (202) 224-4744

Tom Carper (D-DE)                      Racquel Russell            (202) 224-2441

Chuck Grassley (R-IA)                 Mark Hayes                  (202) 224-4515

Orrin Hatch (R-UT)                       Pattie DeLoatche          (202) 224-5251

Olympia Snowe (R-ME)               Bill Pewen                     (202) 224-5344

Jon Kyl (R-AZ)                            Jennifer Romans            (202) 224-4521

Jim Bunning (R-KY)                     Holly Santry                   (202) 224-4343

Mike Crapo (R-ID)                        Katie Oppenheim           (202) 224-6142

Pat Roberts (R-KS)                      Alison Anway                 (202) 224-4774

John Ensign (R-NV)                      Michelle Spence             (202) 224-6244

Mike Enzi (R-WY)                        Chuck Clapton                (202) 224-3424

John Cornyn (R-TX)                      Stephanie Carlton            (202) 224-2934





, ,

No Comments

An ACEP Report from the AMA Annual Meeting

Nick Jouriles, MD, FACEP

Nick Jouriles, MD, FACEP

ACEP President Nick Jouriles, MD, FACEP, is at the AMA Annual Meeting in Chicago and sends this report:

First, let me congratulate Jennifer Wiler, MD, MBA, the former EMRA Speaker was just elected Chair of the AMA Women Physicians Congress. Great job, Dr. Wiler, and a well deserved honor.

In addition to the work being done by Dr. Wiler, members of ACEP’s AMA Section Council continue their outstanding representation of emergency medicine at the AMA House of Delegates meeting, where final voting on a number of resolutions important to emergency medicine will occur later in the week. Congratulations to Section Council Chair John Moorhead, MD, FACEP our other Section Council Members and staff liaison Cal Chaney for their efforts.

AMA President Dr. Nancy Neilson has been very impressive. During her speech at Saturday’s Opening Session, Dr. Nielsen compared the moment at hand for America’s physicians—the nationwide debate about health care reform—to one of the greatest in the country’s history, D-Day. “We now have the best, and maybe last, chance in a generation to build [a] bridge,” Dr. Nielsen said. “This is our profession’s D-Day.”

The speech got a standing ovation from the crowd. How appropriate that Dr. Neilson compared our task to D-Day. Our nation’s Commander-in-Chief, President Barack Obama, will be speaking the House of Delegates on Monday morning and asking America’s physicians to support his plans for health care reform. ACEP member response to the speech will be posted later that day.

After his presentation, President Obama will meet privately with the AMA Board of Trustees, which includes three ACEP members. We are living in interesting times and I’m hopeful for emergency medicine.

Here are some specifics on resolutions being considered at the meeting that are of interest to emergency medicine:

CMS Report 3-A-09: Emergency Department Boarding and Crowding, and Resolution 719: Decreasing Emergency Department Overcrowding, received unanimous support from witnesses at the reference committee.

Two ACEP leaders, Linda Lawrence, MD, FACEP and Stephen Epstein, MD, FACEP were among those who testified. Dr. Epstein urged the reference committee to accept an amendment calling for House of Delegates support for enactment of the Access to Emergency Medical Services Act and for its inclusion in federal health care reform proposal.

Next Steps: The Reference Committee will issue its report/recommendations tomorrow with House of Delegates action to follow. House of Delegate adoption of the resolution (especially if amended per Dr. Epstein’s suggestion) would constitute official AMA endorsement of the Access Act. Stay tuned

, , , ,

No Comments